Investor News

Appointment of Non-executive Director

Environmental Clean Technologies Limited (ASX: ESI) (ECT or Company) is pleased to announce Hon Neil O’Keefe has accepted an offer to join the Board as a Non-Executive Director, effective today.

Neil has a unique background, which includes 45 years of public and private sector experience including 17 years as a highly regarded Federal MP from 1984 until 2001.

An Economics Graduate from La Trobe University, Neil has local, state, national and international experience in capital and finance, infrastructure, transport, trade, media, water, energy, telecommunications, agriculture and resources.

As Chairman of the Federal Government Transport Policy Committee and later as Parliamentary Secretary for Transport, Neil had a pivotal role in the reform and modernising of the Australian transport system from 1990 to 1996. He was also Deputy Chair of the Joint Party Committee for Defence, Foreign Affairs & Trade.

The Maddingley Brown Coal Mine at Bacchus Marsh was part of Neil’s electorate and he took a keen interest in encouraging the development of the emerging Coldry and Matmor (now HydroMOR) technologies, assisting with early-stage grant funding.

Following his retirement from federal parliament, Neil held several roles:

  • Chair – $100M Melbourne Showgrounds redevelopment project (2003)
  • Director – Western Bulldogs Football Club
  • Independent Director – Water for Rivers (joint Vic Fed agency that administer the Murray and Snowy rivers, appointed by former Prime Minister, John Howard)
  • Chair – Centre of Public Infrastructure, Melbourne University
  • Chair – Victorian Motorcycle Advisory Council
  • Chair – Continuous Grass; innovative process for the hydroponic production of livestock feed

Neil is a founding shareholder of ECT and currently holds ~870,000 shares in the Company.

Chairman Glenn Fozard stated, “Neil brings practical experience in major project development and government relations expertise to the Company, in addition to a broad understanding of technology research and development as well as business management experience. We’re very pleased to add his valuable skill-set to the Board as we advance our commercialisation strategy.”

Neil stated, “I’ve long believed in the potential of the company’s technologies and look forward to participating in the development of the next generation of economically sustainable lignite utilisation technologies.”

Consistent with due process for appointed Directors, the board will seek support from Members at the forthcoming Annual General Meeting (AGM) targeted for 15 January 2021 to transition Neil to an elected Director position, thereby strengthening the board structure for the year ahead.

With Neil’s acceptance, current Non-executive Director Mr David Smith has announced that he will retire from the Board effective from the commencement time of the Company's AGM. Mr Smith joined the Board in February 2015.

ECT Chairman Mr Glenn Fozard said, “The Board thanks David for his significant contribution over the past six years, carried out with the utmost professionalism through his role as Chair of our Audit and Risk Committee and more broadly in his duties as a director. We wish David all the best in his endeavours.”   

Mr Smith stated, “It has been a privilege to be involved with the company over this period.  I have a great deal of respect for the current Board and the executive team. I am confident that I am leaving the company in capable hands and I wish all stakeholders the very best of success for the future.”

For further information, contact: Glenn Fozard – Chairman [email protected]